WAVE EDITOR / RECORDER

Edison

Edison is a fully integrated audio editing and recording tool. Edison loads into an effect slot (in any mixer track) and will then record or play audio from that position. You may load as many instances of Edison as you require in any number of Mixer Tracks or Effects slots. To open Edison press Ctrl+E in a Sampler Channel, or load from the effects menu into mixer track/s.

Transport Controls

Recording Options

Menu Buttons

Sample Edit Functions

Special Controls

Peak Meter

Sample Edit Window

Main Menu

Envelope Selector

Left-click the symbols to apply, from left to right -

Waveform – Edit the waveform (usual select/cut/paste actions on the sample).
Pan – Edit the Pan envelope. Top is Left, bottom is Right.
Volume – Edit the Volume envelope. Ranges from 0% (0 dB) bottom to 200% top (+6 dB).
Stereo Separation – Edit the Stereo Separation envelope. Ranges from no change (middle), mono (top), and maximum stereo separation (bottom).
All-purpose Envelope – Some tools in Edison use the envelope as an input. Horizontal axis = time; vertical axis = modulation value (0% bottom to 100% top).
  1. Paste mix (envelope) – Copy the sample, apply an effect, shape the envelope (100% = original, 0% = effected), then use “Paste mix (envelope)” from the Edit menu.
  2. Undo using mix (envelope) – Apply an effect, shape the envelope, then use “Undo using mix (envelope)” from the Edit menu.
  3. Scratching – Select “Scratch using envelope” from the Tools menu. Horizontal axis = time; vertical axis = playback position (bottom = start, top = end).

Preview - As there is no 'live' preview for the 'All-purpose' envelope in Edison, you will need to process the wave to hear envelope changes. To hear your envelopes, select the 'Tools' option and then Mixdown envelope or (Ctrl+E) to process the wave. The undo function can be used to reverse any unwanted changes.

Editing envelopes - After selecting the desired envelope type, Right-click in the 'Sample Editor Window' to add points, and Left-click to move points and tension markers. Right-click points to open a context menu that will allow you to delete points or change the curve type

Feature Switches

Zoom/Scroll Bar

Time/Sample Display

Sample Properties (F2)